Sinhala (Sri Lanka)Tamil-Sri Lanka

Week in picture
Division Flag

Public Day
Monday 8.30A.M-4.15P.M
Wednesday 8.30A.M-4.15P.M



"Our Vision"

To be the excellent government institution that helps the life styles of the community in a beneficial way to the society


"Our Mission"

To provide a service in line with the government policies, uplift the lifestyles of the society through a planned, efficient development process consisting of proper co-ordination of resources and participation of the people"



Puthukkudiyiruppu Divisional Secretariat division is situated in Mullaitivu district of North Province of Sri Lanka.

North boundry is east bank of the Neththaliyaru A35 Raod, from Neththaliyaru up to Theravil pond and through towards of northern Kolunthupilavu Road and Karial vayal to approach for Nanthikadal Lagoon. East boundry is from nanthikadal Lagoon, Karial vayal paddy field area to along to the Nanthikadal lagoon sea shore area which is up to Irraddai vaikal towards lagoon.  South boundry is Aththarapana paddy field, Peraru, Kachchalkodi rever, Peraru bridge which connecting the Puththukkudiyiruppu – Oddusuddan Road. West boundry from peraru bridge towards Muththaiyankaddu left bank upto 2nd Track from that location, reached Pavadaikkal, Kallaru (Maruthamadukulam, Inlet chennel) area and through Potparappi and by secting Nanchundan and up to Neththaliyaru cart truck.


History of Puthukkudiyiruppu

In the earliar period of our area, people are living at Pirappuvedduvan, Maruthampooval. Kumaresankulam, Kandasamikulam and Palayavernavil. Thereafter during the regime of Pandaravanniyan, knowing the resource Land and Water of Puthukkudiyiruppu, and to escape from the place where they were settled from Elephants, dangerous wild animals, to protect them from the disease caused by the

Mosquitoes, and floods, they displaced and arrived to Mavadikulam near to Puthukkudiyiruppu. Due to it, it was called as “Puthukkudiyiruppu”.


In the early days, Puthukkudiyirruppu was an Assistant Government Agent  Division of Vavuniya Disrtict. At that time, our Puthukkudiyiruppu Assistant Government Agent Division consisted of Puthukkudiyiruppu and Oddusuddan areas. Then, in 1978, Mullaitivu District was formed and it was divided into four Assistant Government Agent’s Divisions. After division of Puthukkudiyiruppu, it consist Three Grama Niladari Divisions, (Puthukkudiyiruppu East, Puthukkuduyirppu West and Udaiyarkkadu). Puthukkudiyiruppu Assistant Government Agent upgraded with Five Grama Niladari Divisions. Those were Manavalanpattaimurippu, Olumadu, Mankulam, Mannakandal, and Katsilaimadu. In 1987, Puthukkudiyiruppu Assistant Government Agent Division had six Grama Niladari Divisions. Those are Puthukkudiyiruppu east, Ananthapuram, Puthukkudiyiruppu west, Thevipuram, Udaiyarkkadu, and Visvamadu. Oddusuddan expanded into nine Grama Niladari Divisions. Those are Manavalanpattaimurippu, Olumadu, Mankulam, Mannaknadal East, Mannakanadal West, Thirumurikandy, Katsilaimadu, Oddusuddan, and Karuvelankandal.

As our area was vast area, it was divided as two AGA Divisions Puthukkudiyiruppu and Oddusuddan on 18.01.1990. Puthukkudiyiruppu area was divided into 19 Grama Niladari Divisions. A 35, Paranthan Mullaitivu High way is the Main High way and there is another High way Oddusuddan – Puthukkudiyiruppu – Mathalan also acrossed the division. Puthukkudiyiruppu is situated 36Km  away from Paranthan junction,and other major towns Mullaitivu is in 19 km and Oddusuddan is 20 km from Puthukkudiyiruppu.

Divisional Secretary
Who's Online
We have 29 guests online
Content View Hits : 107808